Home > News > Donbass applied for joining VHL!


Donbass applied for joining VHL!

28-04-11 20:35:27

Donbass officially applied for VHL on April 27th to play in at season-2011/12.

VHL is a young and ambitious which aims to develop new talants and seek for prospects. With a good chance for hockey players to promote their career VHL is to turn the spectactors' interest in various towns and cities of Russia and Kazakhstan.

VHL is the second league in the Russian ice-hockey club structure after KHL. There were 20 teams, who took part in the last championship. VHL is divided into two conferences - West and East.

West is represented by Neftyanik Almetyevsk, Krylya Sovetov Moscow, HC Sarov, Lada Togliatti, Dizel Penza, HC Ryazan, Kristall Saratov, VMF St. Petersburg, Dinamo Tver region, Ariada-Akpars Volzhsk.

Eastern conference clubs are: Rubin Tyumen, Toros Neftekamsk, Zauralie Kurgan, Yermak Angarsk, Yuzhny Ural Orsk, Izhstal Izhevsk, Mechel Chelyabinsk, Sputnik Nizhni Tagil, Molot-Prikamie (Perm), Kaztsynk-Torpedo Kazakhstan.

There were two stages of the tournament - double round robin firstly (two games home, two away inside a conference) and round robin with another conference teams. The second stage was play-offs. There were 3 win series except conference finals and league final. So the winner was Rubin - the guys from Tyumen led by Miskhat Fakhrutdinov beat Neftyanik 4-0.